quinta-feira, 18 de dezembro de 2008

American Detective Stories - Tony Hillerman

Edgar Allan Poe's "Murders in the Rue Morgue" launched the detective story in 1841. The genre began as a highbrow form of entertainment, a puzzle to be solved by a rational sifting of clues. In Britain, the stories became decidedly upper crust: the crime often committed in a world of manor homes and formal gardens, the blood on the Persian carpet usually blue. But from the beginning, American writers worked important changes on Poe's basic formula, especially in use of language and locale.

In The Oxford Book of American Detective Stories, Tony Hillerman and Rosemary Herbert bring together thirty-three tales that illuminate both the evolution of crime fiction in the United States and America's unique contribution to this highly popular genre. From elegant "locked room" mysteries, to the hard-boiled realism of the '30s and '40s, to the great range of styles seen today, this superb collection includes the finest crime writers, including Erle Stanley Gardner, Raymond Chandler, Ross Macdonald, Rex Stout, Ellery Queen, Ed McBain, Sue Grafton, and Hillerman, a best-selling crime writer himself. And we sample a wide variety of styles, from tales with a strongly regional flavor, to hard-edged pulp fiction, to stories with a feminist perspective.

Throughout, the editors provide highly knowledgeable introductions to each piece, written from the perspective of fellow writers and reflecting a life-long interest--not to say love--of this quintessentially American genre. Hillerman and Herbert bring us a gold mine of glorious stories that can be read for sheer pleasure, but that also illuminate how the crime story evolved from the drawing room to the back alley, and how it came to explore every corner of our nation and every facet of our lives.


  • The Murders in the Rue Morgue (1841) by Edgar Allan Poe
  • The Stolen Cigar Case (1900) by Bret Harte
  • The Problem of Cell 13 (1905) by Jacques Futrelle
  • The Doomdorf Mystery (1914) by Melville Davisson Post
  • Missing: Page Thirteen (1915) by Anna Katharine Green
  • The Beauty Mask (1917) by Arthur B. Reeve
  • A Jury of Her Peers (1917) by Susan Glaspell
  • The False Burton Combs (1922) by Carroll John Daly
  • The Keyboard of Silence (1923) by Clinton H. Stagg
  • A Nose for News (1934) by Richard Sale
  • Spider (1934) by Mignon G. Eberhart
  • Leg Man (1938) by Erle Stanley Gardner
  • I’ll Be Waiting (1939) by Raymond Chandler
  • The Footprint in the Sky (“Clue in the Snow”, 1940) by John Dickson Carr, writing as Carter Dickson
  • Rear Window (“It Had to Be Murder”, 1942) by Cornell Woolrich, writing as William Irish
  • The Lipstick (1942) by Mary Roberts Rinehart
  • Homicide Highball (1943) by Robert Leslie Bellem
  • An Error in Chemistry (1946) by William Faulkner
  • From Another World (1948) by Clayton Rawson
  • A Daylight Adventure (1950) by T.S. Stribling
  • See No Evil (“See No Murder”, 1950) by William Campbell Gault
  • Crime Must Have a Stop (1951) by Anthony Boucher
  • Small Homicide (1953) by Ed McBain
  • Guilt-Edged Blonde (1954) by Ross Macdonald, writing as John Ross Macdonald
  • Christmas Party (“The Christmas Party Murder”, 1957) by Rex Stout
  • A Matter of Public Notice (1957) by Dorothy Salisbury Davis
  • The Adventure of Abraham Lincoln’s Clue (1965) by Ellery Queen
  • Words Do Not a Book Make (1968) by Bill Pronzini
  • Christmas Is for Cops (1970) by Edward D. Hoch
  • Lucky Penny (1985) by Linda Barnes
  • The Parker Shotgun (1986) by Sue Grafton
  • Chee’s Witch (1986) by Tony Hillerman
  • Benny’s Space (1991) by Marcia Muller
The Oxford Book of American Detective Stories - Tony Hillerman [ Download ]